Planning your Honeymoon

No wedding, gay or straight, is complete without a honeymoon. Interest in gay & lesbian honeymoons has rapidly grown as more states and countries legalize same-sex marriages. While straight couples on a honeymoon have traditionally been welcomed at vacation spots around the world, we have experienced discrimination in many locales. Fortunately, there are cities and beautiful beaches that cater to gay and lesbian honeymooners. Many cities already have a variety of gay-friendly lodgings, bars, and restaurants for gay and lesbian couples to enjoy. It all depends on your preferences.

The honeymoon world is extremely accepting of gay and lesbian couples. Same-sex couples are honeymooning at destinations like New York City, Disney (Disney will even provide a honeymoon package for same-sex couples), Las Vegas, Key West, Hawaii, Mexico, Israel, Australia, Europe, Asia, and Niagara Falls just to name a few

Say I Do:

Places to highly consider when planning your LGBT honeymoon:

Countries that allow same-sex marriage and recognize it are: Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, South Africa, and Sweden. Vietnam allows gay marriages, but it is not legally recognized. Gay marriage is also legal in parts of Brazil, Mexico and the U.S. (California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington State as well as the District of Columbia.

Say I Don't:

Places to completely avoid when planning your LGBT honeymoon:

Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, Gambia, Guinea, Liberia, Mauritania, Senegal, Togo, Angola, Cameroon, São Tomé and Príncipe, Burundi, Comoros, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Mozambique, Somalia, Uganda, Tanzania, Botswana, Namibia, Western Sahara, Russia, Somaliland, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, United Arab Emirates, Yemen, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Iran, Maldives, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, North Korea, Brunei, Burma, Malaysia, Singapore, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Samoa.